New Bike “SPOT”

This one’s called “Spot”, for obvious reasons (it’s made by Spot, and says Spot on the side). It looks like a tank, but it’s very light. I bought it to use as my winter commuter, so I can take it a little easier on “Babe”.

Low maintenance! Single speed. Belt drive. Disc brakes. 29’er wheels. Steel frame.

My bike "SPOT"

My bike "SPOT"

Fun to ride! I feel like I’m pedalling my ass off and going nowhere sometimes though. The single gear ratio is pretty easy, but that’s about right for winter. The feel is opposite from “Babe”. The shocks absorb everything, and I can easily ride up a high curb coming straight on. It feels like I’m going over a little bump. The belt drive almost make it feel too easy.

Still getting used to it after a day riding. Way different than the cyclocross bike feel. I feel like I’m bouncing up and down a lot because of the shocks. I’m struggling getting the belt alignment set perfectly. And I’ll need to raise the seat more to get comfortable. But you should see this bike parked next to a normal mountain bike. It looks gigantic. Everyone thinks it must weigh a ton until they pick it up. Light as a feather.

Off to MEC for a light and bell, and maybe some kind of deflector fenders for rain.

3 Responses

  1. What’s the advantage of the belt drive? I don’t really get that.

    Cheers,

    Dave

  2. Zero maintenance, mostly. I was looking for a bike for winter, because it’s hard on my TriCross Comp. Last year I often ended up leaving it in one gear anyway, because shifting was pretty iffy. You know – everything gets a little wonky when it’s gets really cold, but perhaps the worst is when it goes over the freezing temp in the afternoon, and then back under. Frozen slush ruts are tough on my arms, not to mention my bike.

    Belts lasts forever (well 10,000 km), it’s clean (no grease/oil), and the feel is quite different. You have to experience it to understand. But, frankly, we’ll see. I was looking for a good no maintenance bike. I’m probably going to get a Rohloff hub, when they work on this bike (October I’m told), which should make it a pretty durable, low maintenance, multi-gear bike.

    Hopefully.

    I think we’ll see a lot of these soon, as frame builders get into the game. They’ve had belts on Harleys for years, and on some bikes, but the main drawback is that you need to be able to split the frame. Trek have a couple now, and Norco, Giant, and some others are getting onto it.

    We’ll see if it’s really a boon, or if it’s a fad.

  3. Interesting, thanks!

Leave a Reply

